Primary Colors

30 Sep

Okay – so to start this blog, I’m going back to basics. I found this picture of Kate Bosworth and took notice of her color scheme.

Red, yellow, and blue. PRIMARY COLORS. The combination of any two primary colors creates a secondary color. Are we back in elementary school? Possibly. But this is why I felt this scheme fit perfectly for my first post.

Aside from her color scheme, I’m digging the ensemble as a whole. I have a boyfriend sweater from The Gap in camel that could very well be identical to the one Ms. Bosworth is sporting … so don’t be surprised if this picture makes a comeback.

It was around 70 degrees today … and I’m always cold. So jeans and a blazer were most appropriate for my freakishly low body temp. Though I did rock the open toed shoes (hopefully not for the last time – I’m not ready to let go of summer!)
Anyway, so here’s my primary colors outfit for today:

Some details:

A little breakdown:
Navy blazer: Gap (originally $98)
Striped tee: Gap (originally $19.50)
Owl necklace: Vintage (gift from a friend)
Studded belt: Gap (originally $39.50)
Watch: Brighton (hand-me-down from mom)
Boyfriend jeans: Gap (originally $69.50)
Yellow shoes: Blowfish ($30)
Nailpolish: OPI – “You Don’t Know Jacques” on fingers. “Italian Love Affair” on toes.

This look served me well today … even though I had to wear it to my annual doctor’s appointment. Ick. I did get a compliment from the nurse on my sunshiney shoes, though. Despite the sunshine on my feet, I made the cloudy realization that my car is making a terrible scraping noise. Hubby thinks it’s a bad wheel bearing. Lovely.
After the doctor’s office I picked up a friend in my dysfunctional car and headed out to salvation army and target (where I found a fabulous skirt – you’ll see).
Rest of the day could include a whole lot of sitting around. Just what boyfriend jeans were made for. 🙂

Okay, back to today’s outfit. What do you think? Did I achieve my “primary colors” look without going over the top? Is this something you will try?

Over and out,
Kayls.

4 Responses to “Primary Colors”

  1. Yvonne September 30, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Kayley, you are gorgeous! Also, we currently have matching nailpolish on 🙂
    You definitely achieved the primary color look, oh AND blew Kate Bosworth out of the water.

  2. jess smith September 30, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    love love love! and i think you one upped bosworth with the stripes for sure

  3. Kristen September 30, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Absolutely achieved the look…and I’m so thankful I get to go shopping with you! =)

  4. Kyle October 1, 2010 at 5:00 am #

    The nails are my favorite detail. Yay for fashion blogging, I’m so excited for you!!!

Leave a Reply

