Lazy Sunday – Cute and Comfy.

3 Oct

I was tired today. I considered not doing a blog post because I was tempted to dress scrubby … but I’m still trying to keep my goal of a post a day (or a least a post representing every day since I didn’t have time to do one yesterday).

This morning Kai and I went to church. Sometimes I like dressing up to church but today was one of those days that I appreciated that I go to a church where wearing jeans is a-okay. I put this together before going through some of the fashion inspiration photos I have saved on my computer … but once I did, I realized I combined a couple of looks I had saved.

I love Lauren Conrad. I’ll admit it. Her sense of style is right up my alley. Not too out there – just feminine and chic.
Here is a picture I saved of LC. I’m digging her casual white tee and jeans look. Gap’s signiture. And you all know how I feel about The Gap. 🙂

This is what I wore to church this morning:

Hair pulled back and glasses – there’s my lazy contribution to this Sunday.
Instead of a white tee, I wore a cardigan as a top. This is something I started doing about a year ago when I wanted to wear white but all of my white shirts were dirty. Instead, I buttoned up this cardigan and viola! Insta-shirt.

The shoes I wore today are one of my favorite pairs. They are super comfy and considering my dance background, I love that they look like ballet shoes. My flats from a couple posts ago are the same ones, just in black. If I find something I love, sometimes I will buy it in a neutral color and then also in something more fun. Some pieces look totally different based on their color. In this case, I knew I would wear both pairs often.

Here is another picture I have saved on my computer that is similar to what I have going on above.

I saved this picture because I like to make flower hair clips and have used them as belt accessories in the past. Someday I will do a DIY on how to make a clip like this and all of the ways you can wear it.
Today I wore a pin that I purchased to wear on my wedding dress for a photography session.

My fly is zipped, I promise. That would have been embarrassing.

Anyway, this is just a standard pin. I simply pinned it around my belt, not through it. You might remember this belt from my first post. I re-wear accessories often. I typically find one good staple and use it over and over and over.

Please note that I am wearing the same nail polish from Thursday. I rarely re-paint my nails before the previous polish chips. Who has time for that?

This look is really easy and adds a special flair to a simple outfit. Just the trick for my lazy Sunday attitude.

Outfit Breakdown:
Cardigan: The Gap
Belt: The Gap
Jeans: J. Crew
Flower Pin: J. Crew ($18)
Shoes: The Gap (Originally $39.50)

Yes, the pin was  $18. In my opinion, that’s a little pricey. Despite the fact that I purchased this for a specific purpose, I would have considered buying it anyway. I love using pins in various ways and knew I would get $18 worth out of it. I bought it in August and I would guess I’ve already worn it close to 18 times. That’s $1 a wear. Definitely worth it. If you find something that you love but are turned off by the cost, consider how often you will use it. Sometimes these purchases are worth it. Today the pin was the perfect thing to spice up my outfit.

Enjoying my day off,
Kayls.

5 Responses to “Lazy Sunday – Cute and Comfy.”

  1. cindy parnham October 3, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    i love the flower pin clipped on your belt…so cute…i like what your doing.

  2. Rebecca October 3, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    LOVE the flower on the belt look. I have some flower pins and sometimes they seem too dramatic on my lapel or in my hair, but this is great!

  3. sidewalkready October 4, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    Thanks for the feedback, guys! Glad you like the idea!

  4. Lynn October 4, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    It’s okay. I actually don’t really like the pin. I think the idea is cute, but that one seems rather large and overpowering.

    • sidewalkready October 4, 2010 at 3:34 am #

      That’s okay, Lynn! The idea is that counts. For what it’s worth, the close up of the pin is a little skewed. It was taken with a wide angle lens that makes the flower look larger. In the full body shot you can see that it’s very close to the same size as the picture from j. crew I posted. 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

