Salon Workday – Professional yet Feminine

5 Oct

Happy Monday! Today I ran some errands in the morning and then had a short workday at the salon.

Shanty had a grooming appointment at noon and then afterwards Kai and I prepped for setting up our photography display at the Knapp’s Corner Starbucks. We had to make a trip to Office Max, Hobby Lobby, and our printing company so I didn’t want to look TOO dressy … but I also still needed to stick to our “no jeans” during the week policy at the salon.

I’m a bit of a risk taker when it comes to working in an environment where clothes are easily ruined. One splash of hair color or bleach and a garment is done for. I also don’t wear heels to work (usually). Sometimes I miss the days where I worked at the front desk as a receptionist because now I stand on my feet all day – not conducive to high heels. I also never ran the risk of damaging clothes back then. Keeping these things in mind, sometimes coming up with creative outfits for work is challenging.

Here’s what I sported today:
Shanty and I before her grooming appointment … my little fluff.

This shirt also can be worn off one shoulder, which I love. Not quite work appropriate though.

My hair-do. 🙂 Someday I’ll do some tutorials on easy styles! The clip is actually a pin that I purchased at a vintage store in Holland. I pinned it in like I would on a piece of clothing, and then secured it with bobby pins.

A close up of my belt. I made this for my 3 year anniversary – the same occasion I bought the flower pin from yesterday’s entry for. This belt is simply some beaded trim with ribbon attached. The ends of the ribbon are beginning to fray. I will have to buy something at the fabric store for that … one of these days.

Here’s how I originally used this piece:

A headband! I probably wouldn’t do this on a normal day, so I intentionally left the ribbon long enough to wear as a belt. I didn’t want this gorgeous trim to go to waste! And now that I’m seeing this picture, I really wish I had worn that pearl bracelet today. Shame!

Today in choosing my outfit, I started with my skirt and then built from there. I knew I needed to wear flats … then I added tights and had the bottom half all set. I pulled the gray top after scanning my closet and knew pale pink would be a good accent. I think it’s pretty clear that pale pink, gray, and I have been like this *insert crossed fingers here* lately.

Outfit Breakdown.
Top: The Gap (Originally $19.50)
Skirt: The Gap (Originally $49.50)
Belt: Homemade
Tights: Forever 21
Ballet flats: The Gap (Originally $39.50)
Pin: Vintage ($8)

Do you ever get lost when looking for something to wear? I know how that feels. Next time if you don’t know where to start, pick a single piece you want to wear and build from there!

-Kayls.

10 Responses to “Salon Workday – Professional yet Feminine”

  1. Rebecca October 5, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    I would like directions on the hairstyle. Immediately if not sooner!

    • sidewalkready October 5, 2010 at 1:36 am #

      Okay! I will put one together soon. It’s simple. 🙂

  2. Yvonne October 5, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    Why are you so pretty? It makes me upset sometimes. Not fair.

    • sidewalkready October 5, 2010 at 1:36 am #

      Thanks Yvonne! Such a nice compliment from a beauty like you!

  3. Allie October 5, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    i love this outfit AND your hair looks amazing. (: for some reason it reminds me of ballet. maybe the colors. and the shoes?

    • sidewalkready October 5, 2010 at 1:59 am #

      I thought the same thing. I actually meant to write something about. I’ve been totally ballet-inspired lately!

  4. Nicole October 4, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    I always feel funny tucking a shirt into a skirt…what is too high/low?? It always looks kinda funky on me but you look super cute!

    p.s. If you paint a thin layer of clear nail polish on each side of the ribbon, it should stop the fraying. It was a little tip I picked up from a DIY magazine!

    • sidewalkready October 5, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      I am going to do a post regarding your question … I was about to respond and then realized it was going to be really long. 🙂

  5. Rebecca October 5, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Oh! I forgot an old ballet tip for freshly cut ribbons – burn the ends just to singe them together. Works wonderfully on pointe shoes 🙂

    • sidewalkready October 5, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      I used to have to do that too! How quickly we forget things …

Leave a Reply

