Overcoming My Disdain For Black Pants.

6 Oct

Okay, so … While searching through fashion inspiration online, I found this picture of Hilary Duff and really enjoyed what she had going on (aside from the fact that her pants appear significantly too long).

I thought this would be a good look to re-create … just one problem: I hate black pants. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not hating on black pants for being black pants … I just don’t like the memories that I carry with my black pants.

When I was in cosmetology school, we  were required to wear black pants every day. Ugh. That’s enough of a rut already. On top of that, we had to wear these big, ugly, parachute-esque smocks and closed-toe, black shoes. Because of this, I wore pretty much the same thing 5 days a week for about 11 months. Black pants are now my nemesis.

Attempting to re-create this look pulled on my creativity strings a bit considering I haven’t purchased a pair of black pants since 2007. I pulled out a pair from cos. school and after coloring in a bleach stain with a permanent black marker, they we ready to wear.

I really love the ones Hilary is wearing above, high wasited and wide leg. It works really well with the tucked in blouse … but considering I don’t own anything like that, I tweaked the look a bit.


Because the rise these pants is fairly low, I left my shirt untucked instead. Though in keeping with Ms. Duff’s look, I stuck with a blousy top. To give it some shape, I wrapped a scarf around my waist as a pseud0-belt.

The gold detail on the straps of my top is actually a pair of clip on earrings. One of my favorite clients at the salon gave me some of her Aunt’s old clip-ons that she had around her home. I’m so excited about them! Lots of fun things in store … 🙂

Here is a detail shot:

I also thought my sandals deserved a feature … considering this might be the last week I can get away with open toed shoes. I really love these. Dressier than a flip flop but just as comfy!

Outfit Breakdown.
Top: Target ($19.99)
Clip-On Earrings: Vintage and gifted.
Scarf: Gift, though purchased at Charlotte Russe
Bracelet: Forever 21 – Same as yesterday’s.
Pants: Forever 21
Shoes: The Gap

There we go. Black pants. I did it. There is a lesson in itself. Re-use old things you never thought you’d wear again. Give it another try. These pants were three years old and stained but as Tim Gunn would say, I “made it work”. Also, a few small additions to a simple top and it looks totally different! … Oh, the things accessorizing can do. Have fun!

-Kayls.

6 Responses to “Overcoming My Disdain For Black Pants.”

  1. Kyle October 6, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Hilary Duff always wears pants that cover her feet, it drives me nuts!!!

    And I like that belt thing on the top, very cute!

  2. Kate October 7, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    haha totally understand this distain you have… try having to wear scrubs! talk about getting bored with clothing. and i love the scarf and clip-on idea… never would have thought of either of them!

    • sidewalkready October 7, 2010 at 12:16 am #

      Thanks, Kate! They’re easy tricks. Most of us have several scarves in our closets … but don’t realize that they can be used in other ways than wrapped around the neck. Cool clip on earrings are really easy to find too, and cheap!

  3. Becca Iveson October 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Love the marker for the stain. I constantly did that when I worked at a preschool and had to clean the room with bleach. Ugh. I use non-clip on earrings as button on cardigans that have none. 🙂

  4. Allie October 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    It is possible that you might get sick of me commenting on all of these… haha. (: I love those shoes. Urban Outfitters has some great scarves like the one you’re wearing here that can be worn as a headband or a belt. Hilary’s long pants drive me nuts.

    That is all.
    (:

    • sidewalkready October 7, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

      I will never get sick of your comments! Keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

